A Thought for Animals

Although I don’t keep a pet of my own, 

I’ve nothing against animals, 

nor against those who

love to pet.

In fact, the rest of the fauna, like us, 

are living beings…creatures,

like any other, with

a body and a soul –   

bodies of countless

kinds and forms 

but soul, of one and the only kind.

I do believe, and rightly so,

the animals complement

our environment, and they deserve

all the kindness,

compassion and care 

from the better privileged,

the homo sapiens.

That’s why I’m glad at

their existence and enjoy

their presence…company, 

although I don’t keep a pet of my own.

****************

Ashok Misra  

Leave a Reply

